Seven Layer Dip

It was a matter of time before I started posting pics of the food I make.  A prod from Manidipa helped 🙂

I was floored by the seven layer Mexican dip my friend at Purba had made. It was on my list of things to make.  I decided to make this when I called my friends in Delhi over for a meal. Purba shared the recipe she used [http://www.suite101.com/content/mexican-dip-a12191]. The dip is quite simple. You have to make three things and chop the remaining.

The first layer is the beans. For this, I soaked the rajma overnight and then boiled it in the pressure cooker. I heated 1 tsp of olive oil and added chopped onions and garlic. After they had cooked, I added some capsicum and tomatoes and waited for them to soften. I also added oregano, parsley, salt, pepper, vinegar and chilli flakes.  I then added the rajma.  Let it cook for a while and then cool and blitz in the blender.


The second layer is the sour cream. I added salt, pepper, parsley, oregano and lime juice to cream. The third layer was guacamole. I followed Guru Nigella Lawson’s recipe and then blended it into a smooth puree. The recipe can be accessed at http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/nigella-lawson/guacamole-recipe/index.html

The next four layers were finely chopped tomatoes, grated cheese, black olives, and green onions. I served it with Bingo Mad Angles and Khakra. The khakra was too delicate and the layers too many – my friends had to spoon the dip on to the khakra.

5 Comments

Filed under Vegetarian

5 responses to “Seven Layer Dip

  1. Not fair! You can’t start making exotic dishes the moment you travel to the other end of the country!

    Happy new year! Good to see you updating your blog. 🙂

    • swagataraha

      Hey! Happy New Year 🙂

      Come to Delhi. Accha, will call you. Have technical doubts and need help 😦

      When can we play scrabble?

  2. Manidipa

    jst went bk to d day we hogged d dip at Purba’s….nd quite shamelessly too i may add 😀

  3. swagataraha

    🙂 We polished the whole thing off much to Purba’s surprise 🙂

  4. Suparna

    Missing those days!!!

Leave a Reply

