Nigella’s Chocolate Banana Muffins/Cupcakes

I was craving chocolate cupcakes and was on the lookout for a good recipe. It struck me that I should turn to Nigella for this. Trust her to have a quick recipe that I could try and trust my luck as I had exactly 3 bananas the recipe called for! The recipe can be found here. I of course set my copy of the “Kitchen” on the counter and began by mashing the bananas.

Ready to Bake!
The recipe calls for
 
3 ripe bananas
125ml vegetable oil
2 eggs
100 gms soft light brown sugar ( I used regular sugar)
225gms plain flour
3 x 15ml tablespoon best quality cocoa powder, sifted (I used Cadbury’s Cocoa Powder)
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
 
You have to mash the bananas and beat it while you add the eggs and oil. Then add all the dry ingredients and spoon it into muffin liners and bake in a preheated oven for 15 to 20 minutes.  I put it in the Micro on Convection mode for 15 minutes. Although this was a recipe for muffins, I wanted cupcakes and chose to make them.
 

The Batter

I did not have a muffin tray. It did not deter me in any way 🙂
 

Cupcakes ready to go into the micro on convection mode

 
The recipe said that the batter would yield 12 muffins. Cupcakes are smaller in size and I managed to make 28 of them. 24 hours later only 1 is left 🙂 I shared it with my family and friends with great joy. I can’t wait to make these again.
 

Yahoo Cupcakes!

 
3 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Nigella :)

3 responses to “Nigella’s Chocolate Banana Muffins/Cupcakes

  1. Megha

    absolutely delicious and yum! 🙂

  2. Denise

    OMG!! These are so good. I added chocolate chips and 24 hours later none were left!!

Leave a Reply

