Muthias

Food excites me enough to try something I have never ever tasted before. My friend Deepa in Mumbai and I chat almost everyday. We tell each other what’s for lunch, what we feel like eating, and what’s cooking. She told me about a Gujarati dish called Muthias which one of her colleagues got for lunch and how yummy they were. I googled Muthias and liked the idea of a steamed snack with lauki. I felt that this would be ideal for my parents who are diabetic and have a rather restrictive diet. I’ve looked through several recipes and videos online and now adapted a recipe which I have made over four times now. Here it goes:

Ingredients

2 laukis grated

1 tsp paste

1 tsp jeera

1 tsp chat masala

1/2 tsp turmeric

2 finely chopped chillis

1 tsp sugar (optional)

Pinch of soda

1/2 tsp Chilli powder

Dash of asafoetida

Salt to taste

2 tbsp besan

2-3 tbsp atta

1 tsp oil

For tempering

1 tsp sesame seeds

1 tsp mustard seeds

10-12 sprigs of curry leaves

Process

1. Drain the water from the lauki and add all the ingredients.

2. Add the besan and atta little by little till it all binds well.

3. Shape them like a cutlet and steam them in a cooker or steamer. Steam them for at least 15 minutes. Check with a toothpick if they are done. They should be soft.

4. Once done, cut them into chunks and temper with mustard seeds, sesame seeds and curry leaves. You could serve this with green chutney.

Muthias

2 Comments

Filed under Starters, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Muthias

  1. Megha

    really??! i didnt know u can make muthias!!….amazing 🙂

  2. Haha! You must taste them and let me know if they are anything like how they are supposed to be 🙂

Leave a Reply

