Nigella’s Totally Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

This has been on my list of things to make for a long while. You cannot even begin to imagine how sinful this creation is. It calls for chocolate, cocoa powder, and loads of chocolate chips.

To bake or not to bake – I was toying with this after I saw this interesting TED Talk by Jamie Oliver 

http://www.ted.com/talks/jamie_oliver.html

 Jamie loves his food and is using his knowledge to help people, especially children eat better. His mantra is simple. Cook at home more often and avoid processed food which is high on salt and sugar. Nigella is a complete contrast. While she does cook at home, she makes no apologies about using oodles of cream and butter and all things fatty. Both are very appealing. Her approach is pleasing to the palate and his makes sense!  I love to cook and prefer making things from scratch. I avoid all ready to eat products as far as I can. I am going to try and hang in the middle now.

So, the cookies today and a salad tomorrow!

Here is the recipe for this mood lifting cookies from Nigella’s website

Ingredients

  • 125g dark chocolate, minimum 70% cocoa solids [I used 1.5 packs of Bournville, 80gm bar]
  • 150g flour
  • 30g cocoa, sieved [I used Dagoba Organic Cocoa Powder that my brother got from Chicago and sent through Mahesh]
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 125g soft butter
  • 75g light brown sugar [I used dark brown soft sugar]
  • 50g white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, cold from the fridge
  • 350g (2 bags) semi-sweet chocolate morsels or dark chocolate chips [I used an absolute yum pack of Ghirardelli Chocolate Chips. Jamie’s voice piped in my head and prevented me from adding 35ogms though]

Method

Serves: Makes 12 [I made 24 :)]
  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C/gas mark 3. Melt the 125g dark chocolate either in the microwave or in a heatproof dish over a pan of simmering water.
  2. Put the flour, cocoa, bicarbonate of soda and salt into a bowl.
  3. Cream the butter and sugars in another bowl.Add the melted chocolate and mix together.
  4. Beat in the vanilla extract and cold egg, and then mix in the dry ingredients. Finally stir in the chocolate morsels or chips.
  5. Scoop out 12 equal-sized mounds – an ice cream scoop and a palette knife are the best tools for the job – and place on a lined baking sheet about 6cm apart. Do not flatten them.
  6. Cook for 18 minutes, testing with a cake tester to make sure it comes out semi-clean and not wet with cake batter. If you pierce a chocolate chip, try again.
  7. Leave to cool slightly on the baking sheet for 4-5 minutes, then transfer them to a cooling rack to harden as they cool.

 I wanted to bake many cookies in one go. So I plonked them side by side. My did they swell! I did not expect a monstrous cookie

Gigantic Cookies!
I allowed it too cool and then shoved them into three boxes  full- one for my parents, one for my friends, and one for my little husband who lives by my side!
 

On the rack

 
3 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Nigella :)

3 responses to “Nigella’s Totally Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. swagataraha

    Thank you 🙂

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookies | Foodie's World

Leave a Reply

