Chocolate Chip Cookies

The Totally Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies that I made last week were a huge hit! It worked for my friend who went from feeling low to super exuberant after biting into the cookie. Upon his request, I decided to make them once more. In order to have fodder for this blog I decided to try out a classic chocolate chip recipe instead of repeating the same. I turned to Nigella’s Kitchen once more and found a simple recipe. This recipe is supposed to yield 14 cookies. I managed to make 30 decently sized cookies.

Here is the recipe extracted from her book:

Ingredients

150g soft unsalted butter [I used salted Amul butter. With the amount of sugar that goes into this, one can hardly detect the salt]

125g soft light brown sugar [I went with Solar’s brown sugar ]

100g caster sugar [I powdered regular sugar in the mixy]

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 egg, fridge-cold

1 egg yolk, fridge cold

300g flour

1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

1 x 326g packet milik chocolate morsels or choc chips [I used Ghirardelli Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips]

1 x large baking sheeet

Process

1. Preheat the oven to 170°C. Line a baking sheet with baking parchment. I did not preheat. I put the cookies in at 160°C.

2. Melt the butter and let it cool a bit. Put the brown and white sugars into a bowl, pour the slightly cooled, melted butter over them and beat together.

3. Beat in the vanilla, the cold egg and cold egg yolk until your mixture is light and creamy.

4. Slowly mix in the flour and bicarb until just blended, then fold in the chocolate chips.

5. Scoop the cookie dough into an American quarter-cup measure or a 60ml round ice-cream scoop and drop onto the prepared baking sheet, plopping the cookies down about 8cm apart. You will need to make these in 2 batches, keeping the bowl of cookie dough in the fridge between batches. I used a tablespoon instead of an ice-cream scoop.

6. Bake for 15-17 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to wire racks. I baked the cookies for 18 minutes.

The husband declared that these were better than the Totally Chocolate Chocolate Chips Cookies. He is not a big fan of chocolate. I know, difficult to believe. Let’s hope they work for my friend who loves chocolate!

Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 Comment

Filed under Desserts, Nigella :)

One response to “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I love chocolates veeeeeeeery much

Leave a Reply

