A Tale of Three Cities

Yesterday, I touched three cities and three airports – Bangalore-Kolkata-Delhi. This was the second time I had been to three airports in one day. Earlier this year, we took a flight from Tuticorin to Chennai and then from Chennai to Bangalore. No big deal, as we did not actually step out of Chennai Airport. But, yesterday was a first in terms of actually being in each of these cities. I left Delhi on Thursday and spent three nights in Bangalore and one day in Kolkata. Here is what I observed:

  • Delhi Airport on a Thursday morning was empty. Sunday morning and Sunday evening in Bangalore Airport and Kolkata Airport was super crowded.
  • I got my preferred front aisle seat only on the flight from Kolkata to Delhi. But, I had to wait for an agonizing one hour for security check.
  • I did not have to wait long for my luggage at any of the airports.
  • Food options at the airport were good in Bangalore, average in Delhi, and horrible at Kolkata.
  • I experienced rain in all three cities.
  • In the short time that I was in Bangalore and Kolkata, I managed to do some food shopping.
  • Kolkata Airport was the worst . It was dirty, stinky, and crowded and took away the joy I take in lounging around in an airport. The long wait for security was a huge dampener. A friend suggested that I simply sit and wait for the airline staff to zip me past security when the flight is due for departure. I considered it for a moment. The chaotic affair at Kolkata Airport and the absence of chairs forced me to continue standing in the line.
  • Travel from Bangalore Airport to my destination in Bangalore was the longest and from Delhi Airport to home was the shortest.

    Surya Namaskar@ T3 Delhi Airport

Now on to my food experiences – I went to one of my favourite haunts in Bangalore – Café Thulp and also to a new ice-cream parlour called Swensen’s, a San Francisco chain that has opened in Koramangala.

My gang of girls and I keep going back to Café Thulp because of its good food and casual atmosphere even though the service isn’t great. We always eat a lot, chat with careless abandon, and sit for hours at a time with no one hurrying us to leave. I’ve tried most things on the menu and have a few favourites . This time we had a Vegetarian Vietnamese Noodle Soup (this is made with fish stock though) which was very ordinary. Their Chicken Meatball Soup is awesome but was not available.

Vietnamese Noodle Soup

Next we had Zapata’s Revenge which was a Spicy Corn Quesadilla with Cheese, Onion, Tomato, Green Chillies and Coriander served with a salsa. This was very good.

Zapata's Revenge

Next, we tried Frogs in Heaven which was a French Toast with Cinnamon served with butter, honey and orange slices. Orange juice on French toast is a nice and comforting combination.

Frog's Heaven

We ordered four mains – The Funky Chicken (Grilled Chicken Breast, Cheese, Lettuce and Tomato, with Honey Mustard), Road Hog (Roast Port with BBQ sauce, Mashed Potatoes, and sautéed veggies),  Wok with me (Stir fried Chicken with Oyster Sauce with Fried Rice), and Gotti’s Ghaas Phoos (Breaded Eggplant Parmigiana with Marinara Sauce and Mozarella Served with Garlic Mashed Potato and Salad).

 

Road Hog

Friedrice

Gotti's Ghaas Phoos

 

Wok with me

Each and every dish was very very good. All this food along with one sprite and tip included came to Rs 1240. Can you imagine a meal (such as this) for four in Delhi to come at this price? I miss Bangalore  😦

After this, we hit Swensen’s for dessert. We are such foodies! We were overwhelmed by the menu and also conscious that stomach space was enough for just one big dessert. While debating over the fondue, happy birthday platter, and zillion others, chocolate triumphed and we settled for a chocolate brownie lover which was served with mocha and chocolate ice-cream. The mocha was very good. The brownies were dry and sad. My friend Suparna makes the best brownies ever!

Brownie Lovers!

The other highlight in Bangalore was the masala dosa at Times Zone at the Airport.  The dosa counter is always crowded and is well worth the wait.

Masala Dosa @ Bangalore Airport

I also managed to shop for stuff at Nilgiris in Bangalore and Cakes in Kolkata.

Chocolate Nut Squares, Lemon Tarts, Chocolate McTarts, and Chocolate Boats from Cakes in Kolkata

Comments Off on A Tale of Three Cities

Filed under Chicken, Desserts, Travel and Food, Vegetarian

Comments are closed.