Picture This

What is on your mind when you take pictures? What are the moments you wish to capture? My father’s piece of photo advice has always been that when you visit touristy locations always take a picture of yourself, family or friends against the significant locations. His logic is that otherwise your pictures are as good/bad as a picture postcard that is available and there is little to show that you have been to this place. A friend who has just returned from a Europe trip brought this up. He mentioned that the best pictures of any place you visit can be easily found online.  Unless photography is your passion, you are better off getting yourself in the picture. In fact, when I scan through photo albums on Picasa or Facebook, the only pictures I actually click to enlarge are the ones in which my friends or family make an appearance.

Does the above logic apply to food photography? I don’t think so. It will be unethical to pass off a picture of a chocolate chip cookie that I haven’t baked as my own. Even if I were to acknowledge the source of the picture, it would take away from the spirit of the blog which according to me is to share the food I make. I have received constructive criticism from friends about my photography skills on this blog. A friend offered to photo shop the pictures that appear here. I must admit that the picture under the Devil’s Food Cake/Ice-cream Cake recipe was photo shopped by her. However, it left me feeling uncomfortable. Since then, I have made a conscious effort to take better pictures or cajole Mahesh into clicking the pictures as he is much better with the camera than I am. No more meddling with the original.

Now, here is a quick recipe for Masala Sausages. I’ve made this many times in the past. Recently, I made this in Bangalore with very bare food supplies. I had olive oil, tomato sauce, parsley, pepper, and soya sauce and of course the onions, garlic, peppers, and sausages. No so bare after all!

Ingredients

500 gms sausages

½ green, red, and yellow pepper

2 onions

4-5 cloves of finely chopped garlic

2 tbsps of soya sauce

1 tbsp of tomato sauce/sweet chilli sauce

Pepper/Chilli flakes

Dash of vinegar

Dried parsley or oregano

1 tsp olive oil

1 tsp finely chopped coriander stalks

Process

1. Slice the sausages and chop the onions, and peppers into ¼ inch chunks.

2. Add a teaspoon of olive oil to a non-stick pan and add onions and garlic to it. Once they brown, add the sausages and toss till they glisten.

3. Add the soya sauce, sweet chilli sauce or tomato sauce, vinegar, oregano or parsley, chilli flakes or pepper and toss well.

4. Add the bell peppers at end as they should retain their crunch. Toss for about 2 minutes and then serve as a starter. You could garnish with finely chopped coriander stalks if you like.

Masala Sausage

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, Starters

Leave a Reply

