Mughlai Parathas for Diwali

Diyas painted by Mahesh

The husband painted these beautiful diyas for Diwali. Not being very artistic, I stuck to the kitchen.

My father nearly always appreciates everything I dish out, irrespective of whether it is good or not. However, rarely does he request for a dish. A family friend was visiting recently. I sat down with a notebook and requested her to share some recipes of some typical bengali food that she used to make for us when we lived in chennai. My father insisted that I take the recipe of mughlai paratha from her. I am not good at dealing with any kind of dough. I was not very kicked about making mughlai paranthas. Mashi told me the process of making one, how it should be folded, and cooked.

I was planning the menu for a Diwali lunch that we were hosting for my parents and friends. I wondered how to go about the Mughlai Parathas. The thought of kneading the dough and rolling the parathas frightened me. In a flash of brilliance I decided to use tortillas instead of making the parathas. Saved me labour and loads of oil and came out very well much to my surprise. This is a recipe that is worth repeating. It is also not as heavy as a regular mughlai paratha because the tortillas are really thin and need very little oil.

Here is the recipe:
Ingredients for the filling
500gms chicken keema
2 cardamoms and cloves and a ½ inch piece of cinnamon
2 finely chopped onions
2 tsp ginger garlic paste
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp chilli powder
½ tsp haldi
1 tsp kitchen King/Biryani Masala
1/2tsp coriander powder
1 tbsp tomato sauce
2 tsp chopped coriander
Salt
Oil
Ingredients for the Paratha
Tortillas
Finely chopped onion
Finely chopped chilies
Finely chopped coriander
1 beaten egg
Process
1. Heat 1 tbsp of oil and the add the cardamom, cloves, and cinnamon. Once they release aroma, add the chopped onions and fry till they brown.
2. Add the ginger-garlic paste and fry till the raw smell leaves
3. Add the keema and all the dry spices. Stir till the meat cooks and the oil starts to separate. Add the sauce and the coriander leaves at the end and let it cook.
4. Place 2 tbsps of the keema at the centre of the tortilla. Then top it with some chopped onions, coriander, chillies and egg. The egg helps to keep the tortilla in place when you fold. Fold the tortilla into a parcel.
5. Add a tsp of oil in a non-stick pan and fry the parcel for 3-4 minutes till it browns. Serve with a spicy mutton curry, alur dum, or just sauce.

Mughlai Parathas

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken

Leave a Reply

