Upma for Breakfast

Last week I was in Kolkata and Chennai on work. Both cities are close to my heart. I went to school in Chennai for five years and made some very good friends there.  I went to school for two years and college for five years in Kolkata. I was there in both cities for just a day. I was glad I managed to pass by school and University in both places. Brought back some lovely memories!

We used to live close to the Elliots Beach, Chennai. I could see the sea from my room. Many a picnics were held at this beach while I was growing up. I stayed with my colony friend this time and we took a walk on the beach and recalled with fondness all the things we did. Shoes were intact this time.

I saw this stuck on the wall inside a government office. The first point amused me:

Suggestions for Success

Later in the week, on a visit to a government office in Delhi we saw a langur tied to the window. This must have been to prevent monkeys from strolling in. Further, there were a group of people smoking beedis inside the building and dropping the ash on the floor. Both images took me by surprise.

On the weekend at home, I decided to make upma. This is such a simple breakfast dish and has the potential of being super yummy if made right. This is definitely one of my favourite breakfast dishes of all time.

Upma

Ingredients

1 cup semolina

2 finely chopped onions

1-2 tsps ginger

2 finely chopped chillies

1 tsp urad dal

1 tsp channa dal

Pinch of asafoetida

I-2 tsps of ghee

1 tsp mustard seeds

10-12 curry leaves

1tsp finely chopped coriander

3 cups of water

Salt and sugar to taste

Process

1. Roast the semolina on medium heat for about 5-7 minutes till it changes colour and turns light brown. Take care to ensure it does not burn.

2. Heat the ghee and add mustard seeds, curry leaves, and the asafoetida.  Then add the urad dal and channa dal.

3. Add the chopped onions and ginger and fry for 5 minutes. Do now brown them too much. Add the green chillies as well.

4. Add salt and sugar to this and then add 3 cups of water and bring to a boil.

5. Add the roasted semolina to the boiling mixture and keep stirring to avoid lumps. It should take about 5 minutes for the upma to be ready. Have it with chutney or sambhar or just by itself.

 You could place the hot upma in a steel bowl and then turn it over on to a plate.

Upma

1 Comment

Filed under Vegetarian

One response to “Upma for Breakfast

  1. My favorite too……yummy

Leave a Reply

