Honey Cake

Yesterday, I came across a birthday card I had sent to my mother in August 2001. I had written a long note inside the card apologizing to her for being a difficult daughter and telling her how much I appreciate what she has done for me.  I was a difficult teenager and had given my mother a hard time. It has been over 10 years since that reflective note. I remember telling my parents that I would never miss home when I left for hostel. I actually didn’t for the first three years only to realise the worth of home afterwards.

Anyway, here is the recipe a cake I made for father on his birthday in January. This was more of a tea cake. I made it in tearing hurry and was really happy when it turned out well and was polished in not time. Unfortunately, I did not manage to take a picture of the entire cake. Thankfully, I managed to click one slice from different angles! As you will see, it was really moist.

I zeroed in on this recipe after having tested a Warm Honey Cup Pudding recipe for BBC Good Food India. I had really enjoyed the flavours of honey and almond and felt that it would make for a good cake as well. Turns out that BBC good food had a recipe for a Honey Cake with Honeyed Almond Crunch. Due to paucity of time, I skipped the crunch and went just with the cake.

Here is the recipe as it appears on the BBC Good Food website:

Honey cake with honeyed almond crunch

Ingredients

175g slightly salted butter , softened, plus extra for greasing

85g clear honey plus 4 tbsp for drizzling and extra to serve [I used Dabur Honey for baking and Organic honey for drizzling. I suggest you try making this with organic honey entirely]

85g caster sugar

85g ground almonds [I ground this at home with regular almonds]

200g plain flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp baking powder

100ml natural yogurt [I used Nestle yoghurt]

2 large eggs , one separated, plus 1 extra egg white

85g flaked almonds [Did not use this as I skipped the crunch]

Process

 1.Heat oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4. Grease a 900g/2lb loaf tin and line with a strip of baking parchment that overhangs each end – this will help you lift the cake out when it is cooked.

2.Put the butter, honey, caster sugar, ground almonds, flour, baking powder, bicarb and yogurt into a large mixing bowl. Put the egg whites into another small bowl. Put the yolk and remaining whole egg in with all the other ingredients.

3.Whisk the whites until stiff, then put your electric beater into the other bowl of ingredients and beat until just smooth. Stir in a third of the whites, then gently fold in the rest with a wooden spoon. Tip the mix into the prepared tin, scatter over the flaked almonds and bake for 55 mins on the middle-lower shelf of the oven until golden and a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.

4.Remove the cake from the oven. Quickly drizzle with 2 tbsp honey and scatter with a small pinch of fine salt. Put back in the oven for 5 mins more. Remove from the oven, drizzle with 2 more tbsp honey, then cool in the tin on a wire rack. Release stuck almonds from around the edge with a knife; then, using the parchment overhangs, carefully lift the cake from the tin. Eat in slices, drizzled with a little extra honey if you like.

1 Comment

Filed under Desserts, Egg

One response to “Honey Cake

  1. Pingback: Sara’s Moist Honey Cake - silverspoonstoreblog.com

Leave a Reply

